The Electoral Hub Forum

the electoral forum FOURTH technical session

Public statement

The electoral forum

Fourth Technical Session Public Statement

The fourth technical session of The Electoral Forum was held virtually via Zoom on Wednesday, 30 March 2022. The meeting discussed the calendar for bye-election and political cross carpeting/defection. The meeting began at 10:00 am and ended at 1:48 pm. 

Members present at the meeting were: Professor Adele Jinadu, former NEC Federal Commissioner, Hajia Amina Zakari, former INEC National Commissioner and Acting Chairperson, Professor Antonia Taye Simbine, DG, NISER, and former INEC National Commissioner, Kassim Gaidam, former INEC REC Adamawa State, Gloria Ukpong, former Chairperson AKSIEC, Hannatu Biniyat Usman, former Chairperson KADSIECOM, Ademola E. Johnson, former INEC Deputy Secretary, Okechukwu Ndeche and Alhaji Lawal Isa Wase, former INEC Directors, Mike Asukwo of Business Day, and Everest Amaefule formerly of The Punch Newspapers, Professor Olatunde Babawale, Provost, Anticorruption Academy, and LASIEC Commissioner, as well as Dr. Kole Shettima, African Director MacArthur Foundation.

The meeting was chaired by Professor Okechukwu Ibeanu, in his opening remarks he outlined the objectives as:

  • Discuss issues relating to the calendar for bye-elections
  • Examine the concept of cross-carpeting and defection and its impact on Nigeria democracy.
  • Brainstorm on the possible reasons for cross-carpeting and defection in the political system.
  • Deliberate and recommend strategies in curbing cross-carpeting and defection.